fbpx

New Worship Series: Building Bridges Over Troubled Waters

We live in troubled times. (We don’t need to convince you, do we?) Through this time of virus threat, political division, racial unrest, and cultural upheaval, how have you navigated these troubled threatening waters? When threatened, we human beings are naturally wired to “fight, flight or freeze.” But Christ-followers have been called to a fourth option – a spiritual way – being peace makers.

The troubled waters in our world are largely built on broken relationships – human beings in conflict over . . . pretty much everything. Who will stand in the breach? Who will seek peace? Christ is calling us to stand up and love well, to tear down walls and build bridges, at such a time as this.

This August, we’ll start a new series called “Building Bridges over Troubled Waters.” The focus will be on peace-making and justice-seeking (you can’t have one without the other) and the call on us as individuals and as a church to be repairers of the breach in our divided world.

Resources

Books

How to Be an Anti-Racist – https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07MDZKB9F

Trouble I’ve Seen:  Changing the Way the Church Views Racism – https://www.amazon.com/Trouble-Ive-Seen-Changing-Church-ebook/dp/B01CF1TR1Y

Letters Across the Divide:  Two Friends Explore Racism, Friendship and Faith – https://www.amazon.com/dp/B007TV0PJY

Reconciling All Things: A Christian Vision for Justice, Peace and Healing –https://www.amazon.com/Reconciling-All-Things-Christian-Reconciliation/dp/0830834516/

Dream:  The Words and Inspiration of Martin Luther King, Jr. – https://www.amazon.com/Dream-Words-Inspiration-Martin-Luther/dp/1598422405

Peace: The Words and Inspiration of Mahatma Gandhi –https://www.amazon.com/Peace-Words-Inspiration-Mahatma-Gandhi/dp/1598422421

Believe:  The Words and Inspiration of Desmond Tutu – https://www.amazon.com/Believe-Words-Inspiration-Desmond-Me-We/dp/1598422413

Grace Matters: A Memoir of Faith, Friendship, and Hope in the Heart of the South –https://www.amazon.com/Grace-Matters-Memoir-Faith-Friendship/dp/0787970980

Children’s Books

The Beatitudes: From Slavery to Civil Rights – https://www.amazon.com/Beatitudes-Slavery-Civil-Rights/dp/0802853528.

I Have a Dream: An Illustrated Edition – https://www.thriftbooks.com/w/i-have-a-dream-the-life-and-times-of-martin-luther-king-jr_martin-luther-king-jr_lenwood-g-davis/8744685/item/39373191

A Good Kind of Trouble – https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0796T62C4/ref=dp-kindle-redirect?_encoding=UTF8&btkr=1

Can I Touch Your Hair? – https://www.amazon.com/Can-Touch-Your-Hair-Friendship-ebook/dp/B076FBH52P

Separate Is Never Equal – https://bookshop.org/books/separate-is-never-equal-sylvia-mendez-and-her-family-s-fight-for-desegregation/9781419710544

Movies Worth Watching (And Talking About)

Week One – The Bridge to the Kingdom of Heaven

Baltimore-Washington Conference – We Rise United resources –https://www.bwcumc.org/ministries/advocacy-action/racial-justice/

National Museum of African American History and Culture – Talking About Race – https://nmaahc.si.edu/learn/talking-about-race

Week Two – The Bridge to Peace and Justice

The Bible Project – What Is Biblical Justice? – https://bibleproject.com/explore/justice/

Christianity Today series on Biblical Justice –https://www.christianitytoday.com/pastors/2010/summer/biblicaljustice.html

Centre for Justice and Reconciliation – Restorative Justice Bible Studies –http://restorativejustice.org/we-do/restorative-justice-week-bible-studies/

Week Three – The Bridge to “Good Trouble”

Albert Einstein Institution’s 198 Non-Violent Actions –https://www.aeinstein.org/nonviolentaction/198-methods-of-nonviolent-action/

Beyond Non-Violence Toward Active Peacemaking – http://mennoniteusa.org/menno-snapshots/beyond-non-violence-toward-active-peacemaking/

Raw Tools – Forging Peace-Disarming Hearts – https://rawtools.org/

Henry David Thoreau on Civil Disobedience –https://www.ibiblio.org/ebooks/Thoreau/Civil%20Disobedience.pdf

Week Four – The Bridge to Reconciliation and Forgiveness

The Black Manifesto at Riverside Church, May 1969 –https://snccdigital.org/events/jim-forman-delivers-black-manifesto-at-riverside-church/

Racial Equity Tools – https://www.racialequitytools.org/fundamentals

Week Five – The Bridge to Anti-Racism

BWCUMC  – Anti-Racist Pledge – https://www.bwcumc.org/ministries/advocacy-action/racial-justice/commit-to-becoming-an-anti-racist-church/

The Difference between Being “Not Racist” and Antiracist – Ibram X. Kendi – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KCxbl5QgFZw

Six Ways to Be Antiracist, Because Being ‘Not Racist’ Isn’t Enough –https://mashable.com/article/how-to-be-antiracist/

99 Things White People Can Do for Racial Justice – https://medium.com/equality-includes-you/what-white-people-can-do-for-racial-justice-f2d18b0e0234

Anti-Black Spiritual Formation by Erna Kim Hackett – Anti-Black Spiritual Formation by Erna Kim Hackett — Liberated Together

https://www.umcjustice.org/what-we-care-about/peace-with-justice